[Report] The Legend of Heroes: Trails of Cold Steel

        I’m so glad this game was recommended to me.
I’m really enjoying it! I’m happy to be so pleasantly surprised. (=⌒▽⌒=)

THIS REVIEW WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS. SO, YOU KNOW… IF YOU’RE PLANNING TO PICK UP THE GAME AND DON’T LIKE BEING SPOILED…READ IT ANYWAY.

          I had my doubts about this game.
I went into it expecting a string of extensive dialogue that would put me to sleep.
I was right. Some of the dialogue did put me to sleep. In quite a number of times too! But the rest was greatly engaging to compensate.
          I can honestly tell you that this game feels like a super mix of Persona and Tales of series. The Persona part being the social links and the academy and the Tales of part being combat and exploration.
There is a good balance in combat and even if you do retry it won’t feel frustrating. It is, however, necessary to plan out your battle accordingly.
If you’re simply throwing attacks at the enemy you’ll find yourself losing quite often.
So you need to carefully consider every move and abuse status ailments. They have never ever been so effective in an RPG! Oh My Lawd! ヽ(^Д^)ノ
          Old Schoolhouse and End Chapter bosses can be a pain in the ass!
I haven’t had a fight with one of those bosses where I didn’t retry 3-4 times. They always find a loose string to pull and wipe out all my party.
Yet I enjoy it. It really makes me think and learn from my mistakes everytime I’m defeated. It’s actually fun.
I usually find it annoying in other games. I wonder why this one is fun.
          The visuals in this game… The visuals…! I’m not a nature person, but Nord Highlands is beautiful! And we can ride a horse! I was on a horse!
We can go into people’s houses! The dungeons are fun! (((o(*゚▽゚*)o)))
There is just so much in this game.
          The characters are all likeable. Even the characters we’re supposed to dislike are likeable.
It’s said that I can choose a girl in the last chapter to share a ‘special moment’ so I already have my eyes on two girls: Laura (strong and graceful) and Fie (carefree and adorable).
Emma is a maybe. I’m not strongly into student council president looks, but she has a side I like. Plus, she might go down my road with the right influence…
I can hear some of you screaming Alisa and she’s probably Rean’s official girl (from the opening to cutscenes and implications) but she doesn’t attract me all that much. She creates funny scenes with Rean so I’ll give her that. She’s a back-up girl.
Why is Millium so cute? And why is her outfit so…revealing? She looks super adowabru, tho! I hope she joins.
          Just one more thing, what’s up with the implicit GL and BL in this game?
On another note, Gaius and Elliot sure seem to spend *a lot* of time together, huh. He even told us he *wanted* to see Gaius homeland…
The Literature Club president is influencing me!! I wasn’t totally like that at all! I totally absolutely don’t know what 801 means either! (〃゚3゚〃)
I won’t say I hate it, tho.
It might be a bit early to tell you guys this but I have my eyes on the sequel.

The Legend of Heroes: Trails of Cold Steel
Region: EU
Genre(s): RPG, Adventure
Platform(s): PSVita, PS3
Rating: PEGI12
Developer: Nihon Falcom
Publisher: Marvelous USA

Leave a Reply

